World Media Awards 2017: Now open for entries

December 8, 2016

London, Thursday 1st December, 2016: Entries for World Media Awards (hosted by the World Media Group*) have opened today. The global World Media Awards (WMAs) are the only awards that celebrate the effectiveness of cross platform, cross border, content-driven advertising.

How to enter: Entry to the WMAs at is totally free but entrants have the option to make a voluntary donation to Reporters Without Borders. Ad campaigns must be content-driven and have intentionally targeted audiences in at least four countries, with 75% of activity having been implemented in 2016. All categories can be entered by advertisers and their media, PR and creative agencies while media owners are only permitted to enter the new Entertainment and Media category directly. There is no requirement for campaigns to have run in any of the World Media Group brands. The closing date for entries is Thursday 16th February 2017.

Judging: To reflect the importance of collaboration in creating successful international, content-driven advertising campaigns, the independent jury will number 30 heavy-weight judges from brands, agencies and media owners and is presided over by three Co-Heads: Ian Armstrong, Global Advertising General Manager, Jaguar Land Rover, Sanjay Nazerali, Global Chief Strategy Officer with Carat Global, and Raquel Bubar, Director T Brand Studio International at The New York Times. The full list of judges is available on the website.

Categories: There will be eight Award categories and a Grand Prix selected by the jury from amongst the category winners, as follows:

• Automotive
• Corporate Influencer
• Financial Services
• Foreign Direct Investment and Economic Development
• Lifestyle & Luxury
• (New) Media & Entertainment
• Technology and Telecoms
• Travel & Tourism

Winners’ perks: All category winners will see their work celebrated in an advertising campaign valued at €500K which will run across the World Media Group’s leading international media brands: The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Time, Quartz, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Fortune, Forbes, The Economist and Bloomberg. In addition, a number of the winning case studies will be published in the World Media Awards showcase on the World Media Group website.

Awards event: The winners of the Awards will be announced at the exclusive World Media Awards Reception at the Ham Yard Hotel in London on Thursday 6th April 2017. All shortlisted entrants will receive two free tickets to join the celebration as guests of the World Media Group, and additional tickets will be available for purchase.