The 2023 World Media Awards for International Content-Driven Advertising Now Open for Entry

January 18, 2023

Organisers call out for ‘Rising Star’ nominations – the young talent making an impact today

London, Wednesday 18th January, 2023: The 2023 World Media Awards (WMAs) are open for entry today, offering ten categories to recognise the very best in cross platform, cross border, content-driven advertising. Hosted by the World Media Group, a strategic alliance of global publishers that promotes award-winning journalism and the role of international media, the WMAs are now in their eighth year.

Nominate your Rising Star!

In addition to the individual sector categories for content, the organisers are encouraging nominations for the Rising Star award, which recognises talented individuals who are making a significant impact to the creativity and effectiveness of content-led advertising strategies, early on in their careers.

 “The World Media Group supports inclusion and engagement across the media industry. The Rising Star Award was added to shine a spotlight on some of the talented young individuals who are pushing the boundaries of content marketing today,” said Damian Douglas, President of the World Media Group and Managing Director, EMEA, at TIME. “We encourage media owners, agencies and brands to put forward their Rising Stars, so we can recognise and reward their hard work and achievements in content-driven advertising.”

The World Media Awards offer a unique prize to each of the sector category winners. The winning entries are amplified in a worldwide advertising campaign valued at more than €750k running across the World Media Group’s leading international media brands. Members comprise The Atlantic, BBC Global News, The Economist, Forbes, Fortune, National Geographic, Insider, Politico Europe, Reuters, The New York Times Company, Smithsonian, TIME, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post.

Championing international trusted journalism

The WMAs are the only awards to celebrate the collaboration between brands, agencies and media partners to create powerful international content campaigns and are not for profit, with £50 of every £100 entry fee donated to Reporters Without Borders.

“The World Media Group is committed to championing and promoting the very best in trusted global journalism so we’re proud to have Reporters Without Borders as a partner,” said Belinda Barker, Chief Executive of the World Media Group. “The charity protects and supports journalism and freedom of speech around the world, a cause that reflects the ethos of the World Media Group member brands. We’re delighted that the World Media Awards can contribute to supporting this vital cause.”

 A panel of international judges

 To reflect the importance of collaboration in creating successful international, content-driven advertising campaigns, the independent jury is made up of heavy-weight judges from brands, agencies and media owners. Leading this year’s line-up are co-chairs Jerry Daykin, Head of Global Media, Beam Suntory and Natasha Byrne, Managing Partner, UM.

You can find out more about this year’s judges here.

How to enter 

You can enter the WMAs at

Campaigns must have intentionally targeted audiences in at least three countries and 75% of activity needs to have been implemented between January 2022 and March 2023. There is no requirement for campaigns to have run in any of the World Media Group brands. The closing date for entries is 18th May 2023.


This year there are ten Award categories open for general entry including ‘Rising Star’ and ‘Social Good’, along with the Content Leadership & Innovation award, which invites nominations from WMG members. The jury will select the Grand Prix from amongst the following category winners:

  • Automotive
  • Brand & Media Owner Partnership
  • Corporate Influencer
  • Financial Services
  • Luxury & Lifestyle
  • Media & Entertainment
  • Technology & Telecoms
  • Travel & Tourism

Awards ceremony

The winners will be announced at an exclusive live ceremony on Thursday 7th September 2023. Shortlisted entrants will receive two free tickets to join the celebration as guests of the World Media Group, and additional tickets will be available for purchase.

** ENDS **

About The World Media Group
The World Media Group is a strategic alliance of leading international media organisations that connects brands with highly engaged, influential audiences in the context of trusted and renowned journalism. Its members include The Atlantic, BBC Global News, The Economist, Forbes, Fortune, Insider, National Geographic, Politico Europe, Reuters, The New York Times Company, The Smithsonian, TIME, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post, and partners Brand Metrics, Dianomi and Smartology. To find out more about the World Media Group, please visit