The 2022 World Media Awards for International Content-Driven Advertising Now Open for Entry

January 18, 2022

New ‘Rising Star’ Category Recognises Young Talent Making an Impact Today 

London, Wednesday 19th January, 2022: The 2022 World Media Awards (WMAs) are open for entry today, offering ten categories to recognise the best in cross platform, cross border, content-driven advertising. Hosted by the World Media Group, a strategic alliance of global publishers that promotes award-winning journalism and the role of international media, the WMAs are now in their seventh year.

This year includes a new category: ‘Rising Star’, which recognises talented individuals who are making a significant impact to the creativity and effectiveness of content-led advertising strategies, early on in their careers.

The World Media Awards are the only awards to celebrate the collaboration between brands, agencies and media partners to create powerful international content campaigns. The Awards are not for profit; every £30 of the £40 entry fee will be donated to Reporters Without Borders. The charity protects and supports journalism and freedom of speech around the world, a cause that reflects the ethos of the World Media Group member brands.

€750k Worldwide Advertising Campaign for Winners

In addition to presenting awards to category winners on the night, the World Media Awards offer a unique prize. The winning entries are amplified in a worldwide advertising campaign valued at more than €750k running across the World Media Group’s leading international media brands. Members comprise The Atlantic, BBC Global News, Bloomberg Media Group, Business Insider, The Economist, The Financial Times, Forbes, Fortune, National Geographic, Politico Europe, Reuters, The New York Times Company, TIME, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post.

Last year’s winning entries included Grand Prix winners, Malaria No More, along with Lombard Odier, The North Face, PlayStation, Samsung Galaxy, Shell, Can-Am On-Road, REWE Markt GmbH, Tourism Australia and Volkswagen.

“Every year, the World Media Awards celebrate the brands and advertising teams pushing the boundaries of creativity and engagement through their content-led marketing strategies,” said Damian Douglas, President of the World Media Group and Managing Director, EMEA, at TIME. “This year, we’re searching for success stories from those just starting out, yet already making a big difference. Our ‘Rising Star’ award aims to surface the very best young talent working for media owners, agencies and brands, and reward them for their innovation and creative thinking in content-driven advertising.”

How to enter: You can enter the WMAs at Advertisers and media owners and their media, PR and creative agencies can enter all categories. The entry fee is £40, of which 75% will be donated to Reporters Without Borders. Entry for non-member media owners remains at £100, of which 75% will be donated to the charity. The Rising Star category is free to enter; individuals can enter themselves for the award or can be nominated by their peers.

Campaigns must have intentionally targeted audiences in at least three countries and 75% of activity needs to have been implemented between January 2021 and March 2022. There is no requirement for campaigns to have run in any of the World Media Group brands. The closing date for entries is 12th May 2022.

Judging: To reflect the importance of collaboration in creating successful international, content-driven advertising campaigns, the independent jury is made up of heavy-weight judges from brands, agencies and media owners. You can find out more about this year’s judges here.

Categories: This year there are ten Award categories open for general entry including ‘Rising Star’ and ‘Social Good’, along with the Content Leadership & Innovation award, which invites nominations from WMG members. The jury will select the Grand Prix from amongst the following category winners:

  • Automotive
  • Brand & Media Owner Partnership
  • Corporate Influencer
  • Financial Services
  • Lifestyle & Luxury
  • Media & Entertainment
  • Technology & Telecoms
  • Travel & Tourism

Awards event: The winners will be announced at an exclusive live ceremony on Thursday 8th September 2022. Shortlisted entrants will receive two free tickets to join the celebration as guests of the World Media Group, and additional tickets will be available for purchase.

** ENDS **

About The World Media Group
The World Media Group is a strategic alliance of leading international media organisations that connects brands with highly engaged, influential audiences in the context of trusted and renowned journalism. Its members include The Atlantic, BBC Global News, Bloomberg Media Group, Business Insider, The Economist, The Financial Times, Forbes, Fortune, National Geographic, The New York Times Company, Politico Europe, Reuters, Smithsonian, TIME, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post, and partner: Permutive.